samedi 27 septembre 2014

DARSHA AMBIENT: Songs from the Deep Field (2014)

“Soft, poetic, melodic and intensely touching, the music of this Darshan Ambient last album is a great mix of O'Hearn, Oldfield and Vangelis”
1 Star Born 5:11
2 Cluster 4:09
3 The Deep Field 7:52
4 Blue Lotus 5:43
5 Heaven in a Wildflower 5:09
6 You Will Never be Alone 8:37
7 Microlife 4:29
8 Grey Sea 4:54
9 Hidden Stars 7:35
10 Tears to Rain 4:06
11 Sleepers Awake! 4:32

Spotted Peccary | SPM-2402 (CD 62:17) ****½
(Electronic rock&folk)
Ah... the music of Michael Allison! I know, it is not really based sequence style EM, even less ambiospherical, although this last album brushes a bit the corridors of cosmos, but Darshan Ambient succeeds his audacious bet to make sing a music without words by mixing skillfully his synths and guitars into a musical texture of his own. And each time, I say to myself that his last one is his best. This one, with some splendid orchestrations, does not make an exception. It's by the very beautiful images took by the Hubble Space Telescope, those known under Hubble Deep Field, that Darshan Ambient drawn his reflections to concoct “Songs from the Deep Field”. The guitarist/synthesist of San Francisco may aim stars, cosmos and his infinite possibilities that his music always remains so mellifluously dreamlike. Rocking between rhythms charmingly activated by ritornellos in staccato and deliciously ambient melodies, Darshan Ambient delivers another strong album where the music stays at the heart of everything, even when he tries a leap in the dark.
A breath of astral breezes initiates the nervous and convulsive movement of "Star Born". Wriggling on elytrons of metal and on agitated percussions, the rhythm hiccups like a keen up-tempo. Its brief jerks are nevertheless taken in the whirlwinds of a melody murmured by indefinable winds and by the charms of a magnetizing guitar of which the minimalist notes swirl in panting orchestrations. Doubtless the liveliest track of
Darshan Ambient repertoire, "Star Born" gives the kick-off to a much diversified album where the poetry of the man in black is breathing behind every note, behind every tune. "Cluster" lands in our ears with the elegiac breezes so characteristic to the universe of DA. Some lazy bass notes are dragging a somber melancholy in a Patrick O'Hearn style whereas parasitic noises forge a rainy appearance. Percussions fall with the same nonchalance as the bass while that very slowly "Cluster" is livening up to a tribal rhythm which reminds me of Mike Oldfield's festivities in The Songs of Distant Earth. Lively and circular, the introductory rhythm of "The Deep Field" is gracefully forged in jerky orchestrations whereas sober percussions beat a countermeasure, blurring a kind of down-tempo which spins lasciviously in the velocity of the arrangements. The track is abundantly sprayed of dreamy notes of a guitar, as well as by O'Hearn's bass lines style, and gets lost quietly in more ambient spheres. There where sit the very ambient "Blue Lotus" and its mixture of synth/guitar strata which push the pensive harmonies from a meditative piano. "Heaven in a Wildflower" is also feeding of the curt knocks of bows, displaying so a ritornello with a very Aboriginal flavor. The movement is very lively, but rest of ambiances with other staccato orchestrations and a weeping violin which root the track in moods as dramatic than celestial. "You Will Never be Alone" is the open door of some very deep ambient phases of “Songs from the Deep Field”. The movement is slow and offers the sweetness of pious voices which caress the soft harmony of a rather nostalgic piano. It's like seeing a sorrow by the back door of a mirror. And the angelic voice is bringing me closer to the ambiences of the Atomic Seasons saga by Tangerine Dream. It's rather poignant at times and we eventually find it very personal. "Microlife" shakes the ambiences with a good structure of rhythm that we can identify as an electronic ballad but with a more accentuated pace. It's sound like a kind of electronic country-rock. All the ingredients are there to capture the ear: good percussions, rustles of angels, other great orchestrations but especially this very beautiful guitar of which the sober play is reaching our soul. This is very good. "Grey Sea" is as dark, quiet and melancholic as "Blue Lotus", while "Hidden Stars" is THE track on “Songs from the Deep Field”. A mixture of Mike Oldfield , Sensitive Chaos and David Wright, "Hidden Stars" offers a subtly tribal rhythm with a cheerful approach and where the guitar snatches our tears from the heart, but not as much as the crescendo which lives throughout this paradisiacal movement. This is the kind of music where we stop everything in order to listen it. Superb! It's kind of difficult to follow such a great track and that's why "Tears to Rain" adopts the ambient forms of "Grey Sea" but in a clearly more lunar, more cosmic envelope. "Sleepers Awake!" is another beautiful ballad, slower and more surrounding than "Microlife", which ends another great album from Darshan Ambient who always manages to reach the dens of my memories.
Sylvain Lupari (September 27th, 2014) &
Cette chronique est également disponible en Français sur le site de Guts of Darkness, dont je suis chroniqueur sous le nom de Phaedream: 

Aucun commentaire:

Publier un commentaire

Remarque : Seuls les membres de ce blogue sont autorisés à publier des commentaires.