lundi 28 avril 2014

NATTEFROST: Different Stages (2014)

“Different Stages is an interesting compilation of tracks which have everything to charm all the fans of soft cosmic techno and ambient dance music”
1 In Natura 4:24
2 Draconian 5:13
3 Dark Spell 3:26
4 Transformation 4:50
5 Valhal 6:16
6 Absorbed In Dreams and Yearing 6:16
7 Ghost Mind 4:43
8 Intergalactic Journey 4:49
9 Nightfall (Bonus track on the physical CD) 5:07

Nattefrost Productions | NFD-DS001 (DDL 39:49 or CD 44:56) ***½ (Cosmic techno and ADM)
As its name indicates it, “Different Stages” is a collection of live tracks that Bjorn Jeppesen has performed in various locations and through many EM festivals. From Sweden's Nordberg Festival to the Awakenings Festival of England while passing by the very famous E-Live in Holland, without forgetting his performance at the Germany's Raumzeit Festival, this 2nd live album from Nattefrost follows a chronological order of these performances which took place from July 2010 until September 2012. The album is offered as download and also in a physical CD which contains a track in bonus played in Copenhagen in October 1999. And what it is to say about “Different Stages”? Well, not a lot of things, except that it's very good but also very short.
With its nervous and curt rhythm which shakes an electronic melody and its tremulous tremors, "In Natura" sets the tone to an album where the rhythm; hard, pure and lively, prevails throughout the 45 minutes of “Different Stages”.
Nattefrost presents here a solid set list with 9 tracks where the electronic rhythms send to us some pleasant earworms which are very good to hear again. We stamp and we whistle for those melodies in a universe of cosmic techno which is similar to Jean Michel Jarre's sonic frescoes. Only the financial means are lacking to support this interesting Scandinavian artist as far as the gargantuan madnesses of the French synthesist are. Well, this is another debate. The performances turn around the presentation of the Dying Sun/Scarlet Moon album, which is rather well represented with 3 lively tracks; "In Natura", "Draconian" and "The Dark Spell". And we have also entitled to 2 great classics pulled out from the Absorbed in Dreams and Yearning album with the title-track and the superb "Valhal" and its soft contemporary touch. Bjorn Jeppesen goes as far as on 1997 with the dreamy and lively soft cosmic techno "Intergalactic Journey" and 1998 with the boiling "Transformation". And then we have another classic to be with "Ghost Mind" from the Futurized album. And in spite of the years which separate "Intergalactic Journey" and "Ghost Mind", Bjorn Jeppesen manages to cement the whole thing in order to give the illusion of a very beautiful album of cosmic techno with very current flavors, even with sound a bit aged and very automated of "Nightfall".
Without surpassing the very strong 2010's 
Live in GermanyDifferent Stages” is an interesting compilation of tracks which have everything to charm all the fans of soft cosmic techno and ambient dance music. It's 45 minutes well packed with a good update of old tracks which doesn't distort them and which gives them a bit of youth therapy. And we cannot ignore any link between the music and the artistic approach which exists between Nattefrost and Jean Michel Jarre. So that I dream of a day when both will occur together, mixing an EM which has so much in common.
Sylvain Lupari (April 29th, 2014) &
Cette chronique est également disponible en Français sur le site de Guts of Darkness, dont je suis chroniqueur sous le nom de Phaedream: 

Aucun commentaire:

Publier un commentaire

Remarque : Seuls les membres de ce blogue sont autorisés à publier des commentaires.