lundi 9 septembre 2013

ETERNALKEYS: Arcanum Secret (2013)

“Arcanum Secre is a soft invitation into the much diversified musical and cinematic universe of Eternalkeys”
1 Letters and Pages 3:11  
2 Second War 2:28  
3 Parallelives 4:33  
4 Memories Gone 3:09  
5 Dragon's Gate 2:41  
6 Future City 3:02  
7 Farewell to Childhood 2:22  
8 Monumental Sign 2:28  
9 Glacial Wind 2:58  
10 Train Bridge 3:31

Independent Bandcamp (DDL 30:48) ***¼
(Mostly cinematic EM)
Dressed in its 10 compositions clocking an average of 3 minutes each, “Arcanum Secret” is a soft invitation into the much diversified musical universe of Eternalkeys, a musical project from the Italian composer and musician Mimmo D'Ippolito. A universe where the music, as ethereal as filmic, caresses our ears, a little like a certain Vangelis, and where the rhythms are creasing them with structures closer of Jarre and Shpongle while the orchestral arrangements are pure moments of anxiety, a little as Goblin. But don't get me wrong! I’m not saying that Eternalkeys is a new Vangelis or a Jean Michel Jarre, although he is very musical and theatrical, but I discovered an artist who seems very talented in the art of composition with a musical signature which depicts marvellously the sense of his titles.
And that begins with "Letters and Pages" and its dark piano which unfolds the pages of a melancholic story. If we like the sweetness of the piano, "Memories Gone" spreads its fragile notes, like the eyes its tears on the cheeks. It's very beautiful and very, but very, melancholic. I have the vague feeling that it speaks to me. "Farewell to Childhood" is yet another sweetness where, throughout a window misted by rain, we remember easily a piece of our childhood. Always weaved of black, "Second War" offers a very dramatic cinematic approach with superb orchestrations which hatch a mood a bit frightening. It's somewhat as if Hitchcock would go to the war. There are a lot of ambiences behind the violence of the mnemonic bows. Eternalkeys has the sense of drama and anxiety, it's undeniable. On "Dragon's Gate" he weaves a Babylonian world with wrapping synth strata which structure a medieval ambience that a harpsichord fed of an intrusive baroque melody, while "Monumental Sign" presents a more contemporary dramatic orchestral structure. After an ambiospherical intro, which reminds me of Tomita, "Parallelives" reveals a beautiful electronic ballad with a supple rhythm where the percussions and the effects of rhythms borrow the corridors of Jarre. The synth develops nice harmonies easily to whistle behind some hoarse organic mumbles. Always in the register of the electronic synth-pop set ablaze by Jarre, we find "Intended City", and its technoïd skeleton, "Glacial Wind" and "Train Bridge" which, on the other hand, are a bit closer to psy-techno à la Shpongle.
There is of everything on this “Arcanum Secret”. From synth-pop to dark movie music, while passing by mourners ballads, Eternalkeys presents his card. An artistic, a musical card which shows an irrefutable talent from the Italian composer who has the sense of drama as much as melancholy. I quite liked it, although some tracks are slightly too short. The orchestral atmospheres would be even more penetrating with minutes furthermore in the meter. But it's beautiful and that listens too very well. Mimmo D'Ippolito is a promising artist who seems promoted to classical movie music, where from the link with Vangelis. But I said it; he is not a new Vangelis... at least not yet. But there is a distant resemblance. Nice and charming!

Sylvain Lupari (September 9th, 2013)

1 commentaire:

  1. Hello Sylvain,

    Actually there are so many around that are worth to discover, that most of people can easy get lost in this mondial multipilicity of the creativity of a great part of the planet.

    So your review are just welcome for everyone to make a choice and to dig into some more understanding of what are great works more or less.

    On my part, I care also a lot about music by listening or by playing, teaching or composing, but there is not one day when I don't feel a little overtaken by all this quantity, provided of course by the internet networks.

    I believe we have to find our mission around the world, I love comment music, usually in french on my blog
    and will send you a request trought facebook,
    interesting sharing can always arise of networks, everybody will got the benefit of it.

    I will keep this page for night reading, because there is a lot of these releases that interest me, of course I knew already the good old pionneers like Vangelis, Tangerine Dream, Jarre and so on... but apparently full of other treasures, coming throught sounds from all their souls.

    Thank you & Best

    Markus Mala


Remarque : Seuls les membres de ce blogue sont autorisés à publier des commentaires.