dimanche 25 décembre 2011

REMEMBER GREEN: Electro Shock (2011)

''Electro Shock goes beyond the stereotypes of the Bang Bang and Tsitt Tsitt''

1 Can you feel it/Electro Love 4:28
2 Electric Feeling 3:04
3 Electric Smile 4:10
4 Electricity through the Heart (With Nattefrost) 4:44
5 Electricity in your Eyes 4:26
6 Electro Dreams 4:39
7 Electro Shock (With Nattefrost) 5:08
8 Electro Technology 4:23
9 Get Electrified Now 4:20
10 Robot Song 4:19
Remember Green is the musical project of Danish musician and artist Steen Chorchendorff Jorgensen. Launched during the last Electronic Circus Festival on October 31st, 2011, Electro Shock is his first album. An album which benefits from the presence of Nattefrost on 2 titles and which offers 10 titles strongly soaked by a Kraftwerk approach, with robotics voices introducing most of the tracks and good Teutonic rhythms pulsating in the atmospheres slightly morphic of an eroded Berlin School. It’s a good hybrid album which will seduce both fans of synth pop and Berlin School.
It’s in a nice confusion of rhythms and atmospheres that opens Electro Shock. The sound is high and a hatched stroboscopic line encircles an ambience in fomenting which hang back between its rhythmic envelope and its floating elements. If the first tones of
"Can you feel it-Electro Love" let augur a feverish rhythm, its progression is something else. It’s rather an atmosphere full of restraint that is getting in our ears with circular percussions and pulsations which bombard broken rhythms around tones of industrial and electronic machines, robotic voices à la Kraftwerk and good melodious elements such as a piano line and cosmic mist. Moreover the piano offers beautiful melodious samplings which criss-cross all along Electro Shock. The tempo comes and goes, dancing on a plump bed of uncertain sequences, jerky pulsations and tsitt-tsitt cymbals. "Electric Feeling" plunges us into the lunar rhythms of Electro Shock with percussions / pulsations, rolls and jingles of percussions which run on a delicate rhythm trapped in a nice floating envelope and weaved by a synth filled by mellotron mist. The cosmic sound effects abound and enrich this dividing musical structure, quite as the 9 others tracks on Electro Shock. "Electric Smile" offers a more flamboyant, a more rhythmical and also heavier down tempo. The fusion of ambient and rhythm is charmingly provided by a beautiful sequence line which moulds a good hatched flow while the melodious approach is decorated by a piano whose notes get lost in a strong electro-cosmic atmosphere. A little as on some titles on Electro Shock, it’s with a vocoder that opens "Electricity through the Heart". And even with a nice circular and stroboscopic sequenced approach and percussions rolling like an odd spatial military march, the rhythm of "Electricity through the Heart" is hyper soft and to the limit very smoothing. And Nattefrost brings a bigger lunar depth with intense layers of mist which coat a waltzing rhythm. Working on a similar pattern, "Electricity in your Eyes" offers the first synth solos which sing on ashes of another beautiful down-tempo.Curt percussions and hatched sequences bear the slow and jerky rhythm of "Electro Dreams". The title soaks into a beautiful cosmic mood where the latent tempo inhales the rhythmic approaches of "Can you feel it-Electro Love". The more we move forward into Electro Shock and the more we dive into rhythmic structures which are alike but whose fine variances attract the hearing. And so we shall fall under the spell of the title track "Electro Shock" whose approach is very Kraftwerk. A very musical synth covers a bed of sequences and percussions which throb of arrhythmic palpitations. Still there the tempo is slow and flows like a zombie duping the bone, while lines of stroboscopic sequences shape an approach filled by rhythmic confusion. "Electro Technology" is a good cosmic ballad with slamming percussions and a superb spiral sequence which winds a lascivious title to nice reminiscences of Tangerine Dream. "Get Electrified Now" is another beautiful ballad filled with mist. A mist sometimes stroboscopic which encircles rolling percussions, jerky sequences and scattered notes of a piano which looks for itself in this lunar setting. "Robot Song" concludes Electro Shock with a strong technoïd approach of the synth-pop years. The rhythm is lively with its huge synth pads which embrace a waltzing rhythmic of the 80’s. Jerky pads curved on a beautiful sequences and percussions fusion which pound around piano samplings and galactic tones.
Variations and subtleties on the same theme! However this first album of
Remember Green offers about ten titles which are strangely alike with some fine variances mainly on rhythms. Except that Remember Green’s Electro Shock goes beyond the stereotypes of the Bang Bang Bang Bang Tsitt Tsitt with an interesting dosage of sometimes slow, sometimes heavy and sometimes more feverish rhythms which roam in morphic envelopes. If that destabilizes at the beginning, we let ourselves be charmed quite fast by this album coming out of nowhere and which deserves to go out of the anonymity.Sylvain Lupari (2011)
Cet article est disponible en Français sur le site de Guts of Darkness, dont je suis chroniqueur sous le nom de Phaedream

* If you want to know more about Remember Green  you can visit his website here: http://www.remembergreen.dk/

Aucun commentaire:

Publier un commentaire

Remarque : Seuls les membres de ce blogue sont autorisés à publier des commentaires.