mercredi 5 octobre 2011

GEIGERTEK The Timeless Mind (2010)

1 The Stirring of Echoes 5:32
2 Passing 6:33
3 What Dreams May Come 7:20
4 Until the End of Time 6:38
5 In Another Light 9:04
6 The Embrace of Eternity 13:13
7 The Timeless Mind 5:31
8 Spirit-Walking 5:18
9 The Gift of Goodbye 3:03


Neil Fellowes (Indigo Code, Callisto and Trinity) is the man behind Geigertek. A musical project where the structures espouse various facets in accordance with influences very diversified of Neil Fellowes, which go from John Foxx to Billy Currie, while passing by Ultravox, Gary Numan and Enigma, as well as Isao Tomita, Erik Satie and David Wright. These influences get transpose on The Timeless Mind where the 9 tracks evolve in ambivalent structures. Structures where curt, unbridled and hyper rhythms precede or outstrip cosmic or ethereal ambiances. Ambiances and rhythms fed by nice melodies, arrangements and incursions of a divinely poignant piano.
Hanging back, "The Stirring of Echoes" voyages between its rhythms and ambiances. It starts with a lugubrious synth wave which roars and pushes hesitating limpid chords to migrate towards a more melodious approach. We expect a rhythm which is going to hatched with an amalgamation of nervous percussions to flittering, felted and metallic strikings which resound in a silvered mist. Everything is in suspension when the rhythm goes out of its shyness with twisted synth solos which roar spectral breaths and take up undulating bends to float on a melodious rhythmic approach fastened to galloping percussions and a rumbling bass line. "Passing" is a strange track which hesitates in its ambiances imprinted by mysteries and melancholy. The 1st part abounds of heavy symphonic élans which crush melodious snippets as dark as deeply touching, while a gloomy synth veil emerges from it and criss-crosses tenebrous passages to land in the notes of a very beautiful dreamy striking piano. These musical structures in constants permutations proliferate on Geigertek 2nd opus. After a soft intro where the piano makes float its notes with a flavour of nostalgia, the rhythm of "What Dreams May Come" wakes up slowly with muffled pulsations and discreet percussions which beat under an intense mellotron mist. A slow rhythm, fed by a beautiful sound fauna, which quietly modifies the initial axis of "What Dreams May Come" with howlers solos and a rhythm seething more and more. Without ever bursting, it deviates towards a morphic structure. Slow, with powerful tones of a spaceship in movement, "Until the End of Time" plunges us into a spatial approach. Superb cosmic waves waltz slowly and cover the white noises and chirping of a boiling stellar fauna. Violins seem to cry the fate of humanity with poignant élans which throw themselves into notes, at once deeply moving and melancholic, of a piano which seem to be the last hope of a world of perdition.
After a profoundly atmospheric intro, pushed by cosmic winds, "In Another Light" shake its torpor with percussions which grow and modulate a slightly technoïd pace. A nice harmonious track with a progressive movement, it unveils a very beautiful melody with keyboards keys skipping in their hatched echoes and circular stroboscopic sequences which are flying over by great synth solos. The longest track on The Timeless Mind, "The Embrace of Eternity" rests on a structure sprinkled of some permutations. After a cosmic intro, sequences skip and pound in a muddled way. On singings of strange mermaids, the rhythm livens up of a minimalist sequential movement where keys skip on various synth lines. Celestial or harmonious, these lines wrap the movement until putting it out. There, the synth lines intertwine in foggy breaths which evaporate in piano notes. This romantic finale livens up again of a less heavy and more melodious rhythm where synth solos remind me vaguely the universe of a certain Vangelis. The title track is moulded following the same precept, except that the rhythm is wilder with sequences which pulse at full speed and that solid percussions are espousing the approach, surrounded with beautiful solos of a synth to multiple tones. "Spirit-Walking" is a hyper track nervous where sequences feed on their echoes, shaping a frenzied movement hammered by good percussions. It’s a movement to subtle permutations, which add a good rhythmic depth, where synth solos are afire.
And, as everywhere on The Timeless Mind’s structures, the rhythm still diverts towards a more melodious finale where the piano offers notes which dance and float on an always so furious movement. "The Gift of Goodbye" concludes Geigertek’s 2nd opus of with a cheerful rhythm, as in an ambiance of nightclub where the jazz is on the menu. It’s a finale which precedes a long ambient intro, depicting quite well the musical universe all in contrast that lives within The Timeless Mind.

Sylvain Lupari (2011)
Cet article est disponible en Français sur le site de Guts of Darkness, dont je suis chroniqueur sous le nom de Phaedream

Here's Neil Fellowes Website:

Aucun commentaire:

Publier un commentaire

Remarque : Seuls les membres de ce blogue sont autorisés à publier des commentaires.